2016 World Rally Championship, following: teams and drivers

2016 World Rally Championship, following: teams and drivers


The winning team in the last three editions is also the clear favorite to revalidate the title in 2016. The Volkswagen Polo R WRC undergoes slight changes this season practically transition for all, in order to improve its performance and try to win their fourth championship (drivers and constructors) in a row. At the wheel of the three Polo drivers will be the same: in the main team, Volkswagen Motorsport, the campeonísimo Sébastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala; in Volkswagen Motorsport II, Andreas Mikkelsen, in 2015 this pressure took off winning his first rally of his career in the WRC.


Together with Volkswagen, Hyundai is the other manufacturer participating in the 2016 WRC officially. And it will do with brand new car, three confirmed two teams and drivers will rotate to fight at the end of year the constructors' championship with your primary computer. The team Hyundai Motorsport It will, of course, with Dani Sordo as nominated pilot by the South Korean manufacturer to compete in at least 10 of the 14 rallies of the year. That is, the Cantabrian driver this year will be the team leader in the World Cup. Together with him, Thierry Neuville and promising Hayden Paddon. Meanwhile, Kevin Abbring some rally will run a fourth car, always on the computer Hyundai Mobis World Rally Team. The new Hyundai i20 WRC will have one year of life and try to make things difficult for Volkswagen in the third year of the brand in the World Rally Championship. Did they succeed?


M-Sport, supported by Ford and his Fiesta RS WRC, Its main objective this year the 2017 car development for both still not confirm their participation in the 14 rallies of the WRC consisting 2016. However, 2016 will not be in vain to Malcolm Wilson and his family. For this season, Mads Ostberg returns to the British team, which was between 2011 and 2013 before going through Citroën. The Norwegian teammate will be the main equipment, M-Sport World Rally Team, from Eric Camilli. French, 28, was in tenth place last year in the WRC2 at the wheel of a Ford Fiesta R5.

Ostberg and Camilli replace the equipment and Elfyn Evans Ott Tanak following its poor results in 2015. However, the latter will run all season under the baton of team Drive dmack World Rally Team, also with a Ford Fiesta RS WRC. Other pilots who bear the American car along this year will be Lorenzo Bertelli (F.W.R.T.), Martin Prokop (Joyacar Czech National Team) Robert Kubica Y Bryan Bouffier.


Double chevron brand not run the 2016 WRC officially. Citroën and it announced that it would focus all resources on the development of its new car for the season 2017. Meanwhile, its pilots Kris Meeke and Stéphane Lefebvre They will participate in European Championship rallies framed in the team Abu Dhabi World Rally Team Total, the pilot also Khalid Al Qassimi will participate in some tests. The team will have the PH Sport support, Division Citroën client computers.

You may also like

- Previous WRC 2016: we expect Championship

- Previous WRC 2016: World Cup calendar

- Volkswagen Polo R WRC 2016 to for the fourth consecutive

- 2016 Hyundai i20 WRC, Dani Sordo new car